Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Classical Music Lover’s Companion to Orchestral Music

The Classical Music Lover’s Companion to Orchestral Music

Regular price $30.00
Sale price $30.00 Regular price

An invaluable guide for lovers of classical music designed to enhance their enjoyment of the core orchestral repertoire.

Robert Philip, scholar, broadcaster and musician, has compiled an essential handbook for lovers of classical music, designed to enhance their listening experience to the full. Covering 400 works by 68 composers from Corelli to Shostakovich, this engaging companion explores and unpacks the most frequently performed works, including symphonies, concertos, overtures, suites and ballet scores. It offers intriguing details about each piece while avoiding technical terminology that might frustrate the non-specialist reader.

Philip identifies key features in each work, as well as subtleties and surprises that await the attentive listener, and he includes enough background and biographical information to illuminate the composer’s intentions. Organized alphabetically from Bach to Webern, this compendium will be indispensable for classical music enthusiasts, whether in the concert hall or enjoying recordings at home.

Author: Robert Philip
Format: Paperback, 968 pages
Publisher: Yale University Press
ISBN: 9780300254822

View full details

Recently viewed