The Piano: A History in 100 Pieces, Tomes

The Piano: A History in 100 Pieces, Tomes


Author: Susan Tomes
Format: Hardcover, 400 pages
Publisher: Yale University Press (2021)
ISBN: 9780300253924

A fascinating history of the piano explored through 100 pieces chosen by one of the United Kingdom’s most renowned concert pianists.

An astonishingly versatile instrument, the piano allows just two hands to play music of great complexity and subtlety. For more than 200 years, it has brough solo and collaborative music into homes and concert halls and has inspired composers in every musical genre.

Charting the development of the piano from the late 18th century to present day, pianist and writer Susan Tomes takes the reader with her on a personal journey through 100 pieces including solo works, chamber music, concerts and jazz. Her choices include composers such a Bach, Mozart, Beethoven, Robert Schumann, Tchaikovsky, Debussy, Gershwin and Philip Glass. Looking at this history from a modern performer’s perspective, she acknowledges neglected women composers and players including Fenny Mendelssohn, Maria Szymanowska, Clara Schumann and Amy Beach.

About Susan Tomes:

Susan Tomes is a concert pianist and writer. Renowned both as a soloist and as the pianist of Domus and the Florestan Trio, she is the author of numerous works including Beyond the Notes, Sleeping in Temples and Speaking the Piano.

Recently viewed